Carrots from the Garden

I harvested carrots from my garden yesterday.  I think carrots are one of my favorite things to grow.  I love how surprised I feel every time I pull one up and find that bright orange prize that was hiding beneath the soil.

We roasted them for dinner.  Roasted carrots are quick and easy.  Roasting brings out the sweet flavors in the carrots, requires only one bowl and one roasting vessel, and is a hands-off process once you have them in the oven.  I just cut carrots in halves, or quarters if they are really big, put them in a big bowl and toss with olive oil, salt and pepper.  Then I pour them out onto a cookie sheet that is covered with a piece of parchment and put them in a 450 degree oven for about 15-20 minutes.  Stir once or twice during that time and serve hot or room temperature.

I also marinated some carne asada from Leo-Burger in garlic (from my garden), cilantro (from my garden), olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper.  My handsome husband grilled it on a hot charcoal fire and we had carne asada tacos with our carrots.

Leave a Reply

