Happy New Year!

I want to first give you the bad news…I’m not posting any more pictures of my kids on my blog.  Instead, you are going to get photos of wild pigs and stuff.  This is a serious bummer because my family is spread out all over the place and it’s nice to be able to share photos of what is going on in our lives with them.  The thing that is making me really sad right now and spurred this decision is that in the last week the top searches that have landed people on my blog are, and I quote: “cute girls with puppies” and “cute 12 year old girls”.  The runner up was Gwyneth Paltrow’s 10 hour chicken.  Congratulations Gwyneth, you continue to daze and amaze, but ranking a close second to child molesters searching the internet for photos of innocent children.  Seriously people?  All the problems in the world today and you have time to search the internet for pictures of cute little girls?  So for you losers out there that are taking away the ability of my grandparents across the country to see photos of their great-grandchildren, remember, I’m the girl that kills my own chickens with a buck pocket knife in my front yard.

Now, let’s get down to business!

For about 2 hours yesterday morning I actually considered doing a New Year’s detox cleanse.  Apparently I have been tagged by the marketing powers that be as a good candidate for this process.  Perhaps the fact that I am approaching middle age (Holy Shit!) and am a female in a country where how you look defines your being has contributed to the fact that recently my email inbox is full of New Years cleanse offers.

It sounded like a good idea after overdosing on gingerbread men covered in green and red cake mate frosting from a tube. That is, until my tumbly got rumbly, which happens about every two hours in my case.  I mean, I was hungry!  Starving!  How could I possibly live on juice and water with lemon and chili pepper in it for two weeks.  So I did what any girl would do.  I went to the kitchen and made a burrito from leftover chicken-fried steak that I had made for dinner the night before.  It hit the spot and cured me of my cleansing thoughts.  (For those of you who don’t know me very well, my score for willpower when it comes to resisting food of any kind is a big fat ZERO.  For example, right now I am eating a tamale and drinking a mexican coke.  Super yum.)

Moving on from the cleanse fantasy, here’s what is going on in real life.  We are working on putting together our 09 and 10 blends today so that we can bottle at the end of February.  The 2011 wines look amazing!  Small quantities though.  But I have not been this excited about a vintage in a long time.

And I want to take this opportunity to wish each and every one of you a very happy, healthy, prosperous, exciting, and super successful 2012!

Signing off for now….

One response

  1. don’t let the idiots bother you. i enjoy your real life blogs, please talk about the specifics of your wine, nuances, why are making?, your ideas what a wine can be! where is your winery? what all do you make, thank you.

Leave a Reply

