Garden Planning!

It’s time again for spending hours looking at seed catalogs, deciding what to grow this year in my garden and in what quantities.  I love this!  My garden last year was pretty good.  Here is what the lower section looked like in all it’s glory.

My mistake last year was that towards the end of the season I didn’t seed anything for Fall.  I am always anticipating the wine grape harvest and the long hours that come with it.  I feel like having a Fall/Winter garden during harvest is adding another iron to the fire that I really won’t have time to tend to.  I regretted that decision this Winter, but I have been pilfering some really awesome carrots and greens from my neighbor Jim who is a seriously self-sufficient adobe-house-building maniac with a vibrant green thumb.  The thing about Jim is that he pretty much survives on homemade tomato sauce and spaghetti so there are lots of extra veggies to go around.  Yes, I invite him over for dinner frequently, but he usually goes to bed too early.

My order this year from Seed Savers looked something like this:  beets, carrots, cabbage, cucumber, kale, lettuce, okra, eggplant, zucchini, sunflowers, potatoes, spinach, radish, onion, turnip, and swiss chard.  That’s a lot of seeds to start!  Very exciting and lots to look forward to as the weather warms up.  But until then, can we get some rain please?

Leave a Reply

